Five Minute Friday — Redeem

Deirdre Parker
2 min readMar 19, 2021

Every Friday I join a community of bloggers for Five Minute Friday. One word prompt, five minutes. And I literally write it in 5 minutes. The prompt this week is … Redeem.

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

This morning my son has given me 15 minutes to just be alone and still. He’s not ready to wake up and I’m not ready to wake him up. It’s odd because typically he’s up by 6:30am, but it is now 8:00am. I’m not complaining. I’m grateful. He’s been an early bird ever since we met him. Even in his birth country he would wake up at 6:30am. We think he is possibly getting sick, but regardless. I’m enjoying this. I know it won’t last forever.

In my stillness I started to think about the prompt word, redeem and connect it to time with him. We adopted our son when he was almost 3 years old. There are moments when I think about the records that document his life that came with him and think how much time and events that we missed with him. How many birthdays? How many doctor’s appointments? How many church visits? How many songs?

Then I switch my longing to gratefulness that we have more birthdays ahead than we’ve missed. We have more doctor’s appointments than we’ve missed. We have more songs to sing together ahead than we missed. In my human nature I can long for what was missed and try to make up for it, or I can move ahead and make new memories, cross new bridges and conquer new mountains with him. This is the tangible definition of redeem for me.

I’m grateful to God that he can help us redeem the time in this new venture of becoming a bonded family together.

--

--

Deirdre Parker

God’s Daughter, Vet Wife, Mommy, Daughter, Sister, Aunt, Teacher and Friend. Proud Baltimorean!!